The Zárkándy Bastion Reborn
The Zárkándy Bastion represents a fantastic, new attraction at Eger Castle. You can reach the bastion via a truly unique route. During the reconstruction work, we reopened a gallery providing underground access to this structure.
A short film of the reconstructed bastion, courtesy of Pazirik Informatikai Ltd., can be viewed by clicking HERE!
The Hungarian Government and the Municipality of Eger jointly financed the project of the Zárkándy Bastion under the auspices of the Modern Cities Programme. The first phase of the project cost HUF 309 million, while the Ministry of the Interior financed the second phase.
The total cost of the investment: HUF 623,268,036 gross
Of which construction costs: HUF 535,927,921 gross
General Pál Zárkándy, who gave his name to this bastion, initiated the castle's reconstruction in 1568. In the second half of the 16th century, the Italian engineer Ottavio Baldigara redesigned it. The bastion represents a perfect example of a "trace italienne" bastion, one of the outstanding achievements of the era.
Since the early 1900s, Zárkándy Bastion has been cut off from the fortress by a railway line despite its historical importance. This railway construction led to the demolition of parts of the castle walls, with the bastion's ruins being left to their fate. The once high stone walls were barely visible, and preservation and restoration work became essential. Nature gradually took possession of the monument.
We cleared a further 150 metres of the existing 300-metre-long gallery (observation corridor), an additional 100 metres of which are now open to tourists. The galleries are now once again accessible almost in their entirety.
The newly reconstructed bastion is also significant because it best illustrates the role Italian-style fortifications played in the defence of the castle.