Arts and Crafts collection

ISTVÁN DOBÓ CASTLE MUSEUM

HU / EN / PL / DE

3300, Eger, Vár 1.
Tel.: +36/36/312-744
E-mail: varmuzeum@egrivar.hu

Arts and Crafts collection

Egri Programok

When the museum was founded in 1950 the section representing the highest quality was the fine arts section as it contained European-quality paintings and drawings received from the Lyceum Museum and Gallery. The first Castle Museum exhibition in 1958 showcased this collection which was available for viewing up until 2014 in the same exhibition area. The collection contained 16th-18th century Italian, Dutch, German, Austrian, Spanish, and French paintings as well as paintings by 19th century Hungarian baroque painters from Eger (most notably Mihály Kovács). The Museum also adapted its artwork acquisition strategy to this collection and thus many works of renowned European artists were bought and restored to diversify our collection, so that the expanding collection of the Eger Gallery can be enjoyed by art lovers not only locally, but at exhibitions in prominent European and American museums by lending some of our treasured pieces. In 1984 the sacral collection of Zoltán Szilárdfy was purchased, which was a significant addition. The specialty of this collection were the so called “nun works”.

Apart from this the museum is also open to contemporary works. This is how the most prominent unit became the collection from the National Watercolor Biennale (started in 1968 and becoming a Triennale in 2007) that represents Hungary’s watercolor arts from 1970 up until today. This has been proved by displaying the collection in many different countries such as the Czech Republic, Finland, Estonia, France, Poland, and Romania/Transylvania. A catalogue of the collection was made in 2006 with the help of the Natural Cultural Fund of Hungary.

CARACCIOLO, Giovanni Battista (Battistello) (1570-1635),  Bűnbeesés
A csikó átmegy az országúton

The works of our local artists and those teaching at our university are regularly added to the collection.

Our Museum also collects works of applied arts, while significant pieces of this genre can be found also in the historical collection of objects from the late modern period. Hutterite and post-Hutterite pottery, pewters, as well as special pieces, secessionist jugs and bowls from the Bélapátfalva earthenware factory are also part of the collection. The pieces from the Parád glass manufacture are representative of several decades and different functions. The city's baroque apothecaries are showcased as well as the medicine, powder and liquid storage pots, which are unique both in terms of their quantity and their historical value. The furnished apothecary named after Bishop István Telekessy was founded in the early 1700s by the Jesuits and now serves as a museum.

The remaining 34 plates from the coffered wooden ceiling of the Noszvaj Calvinist church that was taken down in 1928 are also on display. They are thought to be made in the second half of the 17th century, but the texts on them suggest that they were probably renovated in 1700 and 1734.